Journey to my BFP through Faith

"Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not yet seen"

Protein C Deficiency…

on October 3, 2012

I went to the RE office (close to my house) this morning before work and was told to wait while they transfer the results from the main office where the RE usually is (1 hour away).  I sat there for about 15 minutes and heard the phone ring.  The nurse on the other end told her that they can’t give me the results because the doctor didn’t actually speak to me….  I was told she would call me soon, so I left for work.
She finally called at 11am.  She said everything looked beautiful except the Protein C was low.  She said it was 74 and normally it should be 89 to 146.  She also said that if they tested me next week it may be normal, but they are not going to take their chances.  Once the beta test confirms that I am pregnant I need to go on Lovenox injection (belly) every day during the pregnancy!  Low Protein C can lead to blood clots in the placenta or cord cutting oxygen supply to the baby.  (The MTHFR test results have not come in, but they said they are not concerned about that.)

So we pushed the doctor for all these tests even though they are typically ordered only for those who have recurrent miscarriages.  I am thankful that I got them done so that we can have the preventative care during pregnancy.

~Faith


2 responses to “Protein C Deficiency…

  1. so glad you were your own advocate and now once you get a bfp you will give the baby the best chance!!!

  2. sams says:

    Yikes! A shot every day during pregnancy sounds pretty rough – but well worth it in the end. 🙂 Praying for you!

Leave a comment

Homestead Y'all

Welcome to Homestead Y'all

Journey To the Finish Line

PR's, 4 children, hopes and dreams; I'm always running after something

Our work of A.R.T.

My journey through IVF, Pregnancy and Loss

Baby Steps to Balance

Small Steps to Getting the Life You Love

Roribeat's Baby Blog

My IVF journey for a baby

Scrambled Eggs

using science to make a baby

Wishing and hoping

My journey through infertility

Hope, Trust, & Truth

Navigating the murky waters of a pregnancy after miscarriage & infertility through the lens of hope, trust, & truth

Nelson's Nest

Our journey to build our nest in Kansas City, MO. Come along for the ride!

What is essential is invisible to the eye

Diary of an Italian working mum in the UK

My IVF Journey

confessions of an infertile...

what a day for a daydream

"Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not yet seen"

venting vagina

a recovering IVF addict, now momma to 4 boys

The Hopeful Pink Lady...

a quest for truth through the unknown

Love Understands

Love Understands and Therefore Waits ... reflections on growing our family.

BFP Envy

My fertility journey